Local Aboriginal organisations help reform talks

Fri 9 September, 2016

Four Aboriginal organisations in the Kimberley are working alongside the State Government to consult with remote Aboriginal communities about regional services reform.

Miriuwung Gajerrong Aboriginal Corporation and Wunan Foundation will assist with community consultation in the East Kimberley; Aarnja in the West Kimberley; and Fitzroy Valley Futures in the Fitzroy Valley.

Employees of the local organisations will travel with the Regional Services Reform Unit to attend and facilitate meetings with community leaders and residents.

Regional Services Reform Unit director Tracey Gillett said the organisations would help to make sure that discussions about the regional services reform roadmap were meaningful and culturally appropriate.

“The reform unit is visiting every remote Aboriginal community in Western Australia to discuss the roadmap and what it means for individuals and families,” Ms Gillett said.

“We are looking at how living conditions, housing and family wellbeing can be improved over time, as well as opportunities for education and employment. The overarching principle of the consultation is that Aboriginal people and government need to work together to bring about positive, long-term change.”

Ms Gillett said the facilitators would help the reform unit to fully understand the unique history and circumstances of each community.

Discussions with remote communities have begun across the Kimberley. The reform unit and the facilitators visited Warmun, Balgo and Mulan this week, and more visits are planned across the region next week.

The community facilitators have been engaged for between three and six months. An Aboriginal organisation in the Pilbara will soon be appointed to assist with community consultation in that region.

The State Government released the ‘Resilient Families; Strong Communities’ roadmap on 14 July 2016.

Discussions with remote Aboriginal communities about regional services reform are taking place throughout Western Australia.

All contents copyright Government of Western Australia. All rights reserved.
Last reviewed: 27 Sep 2016