Remote communities

About 12,000 Aboriginal people live in remote communities in Western Australia.

Existing arrangements for the provision of essential and municipal services to these communities are complex and the quality of services and infrastructure is generally poor.

Of the State's 274 remote communities, about 165 receive some form of direct service provision or support from the State Government. This ranges from 14 communities that receive an electricity supply from Horizon Power, to diesel fuel subsidies for smaller communities that run generators.

The State Government does not fund any services or provide any funding to the smallest 110 or so remote communities, although any of the estimated 400 permanent residents of those communities may access universal services, such as hospitals and schools, elsewhere.

Very few remote communities receive any local government services.

The State Government will work progressively to meet minimum standards for essential and municipal services in larger remote Aboriginal communities.

The principles that the State Government will apply to the provision of essential and municipal services in remote Aboriginal communities are set out in the regional services reform roadmap.

The Regional Services Reform Unit is consulting with remote Aboriginal communities about future essential and municipal service delivery arrangements in accordance with the principles in the roadmap.

The State Government has identified the first 10 communities with which it will work to upgrade essential and municipal infrastructure and introduce commensurate charges.

All contents copyright Government of Western Australia. All rights reserved.
Last reviewed: 27 Oct 2017